EDM 1002

Early Day Motion 1002

Below are the details of this EDM as brought before the house by Anne Main MP


That this House notes that, following the introduction of a new motorcycle test on 27 April 2009, Driving Standards Agency figures show that 50,000 fewer people took the motorcycle test in the period to 31 January 2010 than in the same period in 2008; further notes that 45 learners crashed attempting the new test during its first nine weeks, resulting in 12 hospitalisations; further notes that the majority of crashes occurred during the new swerve and stop exercise, which has been combined into one exercise in Module One of the new test; further notes that this is not obligatory under the European directive which prompted the introduction of the new test; further notes that the new test has resulted in a reduction in test centres, requiring longer journeys for inexperienced riders to access test facilities; is concerned that inaction to tackle this lack of test centres and combined swerve and stop exercise could lead to a decline in the overall number of motorcyclists and the motorcycle industry as a whole; congratulates Motorcycle News and the Motorcycle Action Group on their campaign to have these issues addressed; and calls on the Government to consider separating the two elements of the swerve and stop exercise and to investigate how the availability of test centres could be addressed.

116 MPs signed it (is yours there?):

Abbott, Diane
Ainger, Nick
Amess, David
Arbuthnot, James
Austin, John
Bacon, Richard
Baldry, Tony
Barron, Kevin
Begg, Anne
Beith, Alan
Berry, Roger
Bottomley, Peter
Brake, Tom
Brooke, Annette
Burgon, Colin
Burns, Simon
Burt, Alistair
Campbell, Menzies
Caton, Martin
Clark, Greg
Cohen, Harry
Cook, Frank
Crabb, Stephen
Cruddas, Jon
Cryer, Ann
Cummings, John
Davies, Dai
Davis, David
Dean, Janet
Dodds, Nigel
Durkan, Mark
Ellwood, Tobias
Etherington, Bill
Evans, Nigel
Fabricant, Michael
Farrelly, Paul
Farron, Timothy
Field, Frank
Foster, Don
George, Andrew
Goldsworthy, Julia
Goodwill, Robert
Gray, James
Greenway, John
Grieve, Dominic
Hamilton, David
Hancock, Mike
Harvey, Nick
Havard, Dai
Hepburn, Stephen
Holmes, Paul
Horwood, Martin
Hosie, Stewart
Huhne, Chris
Hunter, Mark
Illsley, Eric
Jenkins, Brian
Jones, David
Jones, Lynne
Joyce, Eric
Key, Robert
Laing, Eleanor
Laxton, Bob
Leech, John
Lepper, David
Lewis, Julian
Luff, Peter
Maclean, David
Main, Anne
Mann, John
Mason, John
Mates, Michael
McCafferty, Chris
McCrea, Dr William
McDonnell, John
McGrady, Eddie
McIsaac, Shona
Meale, Alan
Mercer, Patrick
Miller, Maria
Moss, Malcolm
Murrison, Andrew
Naysmith, Doug
Newmark, Brooks
Opik, Lembit
Pelling, Andrew
Penning, Mike [R]
Penrose, John
Reid, Alan
Riordan, Linda
Rooney, Terry
Rowen, Paul
Roy, Lindsay
Selous, Andrew
Simpson, Alan
Skinner, Dennis
Smith, Chloe
Smith, Robert
Spelman, Caroline
Starkey, Phyllis
Streeter, Gary
Stunell, Andrew
Swinson, Jo
Swire, Hugo
Timpson, Edward
Tipping, Paddy
Vis, Rudi
Walter, Robert
Webb, Steve
Weir, Mike
Wiggin, Bill
Williams, Mark
Williams, Stephen
Winterton, Ann
Wishart, Pete
Wood, Mike

WP Flex by WP Queen
Wordpress theme developed by Simpler Computing and others - Wordpress and WPMU Plugins, custom code and more.